Mosaic is the art of crafting an image using a collection of small, diverse materials. In this piece, that concept is realized sonically using the orchestra as source material. Each instrument contributes only fragments to the larger musical world. In the beginning of the piece, these fragments are small and fleeting, creating a highly percussive texture, akin to viewing mosaic art up close. But as the piece continues, these fragments begin to overlap and expand, creating a sustained texture, akin to stepping back and observing the image in its entirety.


Composition Details

Completed in 2016 and officially premiered on September 16th, 2016 by the Kaleidoscope Chamber Orchestra at Union Station in Los Angeles, LA.




  • 2/2/2/2 – 2 Flutes (1 piccolo), 2 Oboes, 1 Clarinet in Bb, 1 Bass Clarinet, 2 Bassoons
  • 4/2/3/1 – 4 Horns in F, 2 Trumpets in C, 2 Trombones, 1 Bass Trombone, 1 Tuba
  • 2 Percussion (Temple blocks, Woodblock, 2 Toms, Bongos, Triangle, Cowbell, Xylophone, Bass Drum, Suspended Cymbal)
  • Harp (optional), Piano
  • Strings



~6 minutes


Performers: Aspen Conducting Academy Orchestra


Score Link

Score Available Here