Metropolitan is a piece that was inspired by the multitude of life inherent to every city. A huge variety of people from all walks of life come together, now united by proximity. The result is a completely unique experience that breeds collaboration for the inspired, ambition for the eager, danger in the masses, beauty in the diversity, coldness in the operation, power in the structure, and everything in between. Each movement of the piece explores a different aspect of this complex environment. It is the composer’s hope that the music may inform, illuminate, or resonate with your own urban experiences.


Composition Details

Completed in 2013 (adapted for orchestra from the 2011 solo piano version) and premiered on July 14th, 2013 by David Hanlon and the Castleton Festival Orchestra in Castleton, VA.




  • 2/2/2/2 – 2 Flutes (1 piccolo), 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in Bb, 2 Bassoons
  • 4/3/3/1 – 4 Horns in F, 3 Trumpets in C, 2 Trombones, 1 Bass Trombone, 1 Tuba
  • 3 Percussion (Triangle, Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Vibraphone, Marimba, 2 Bongos, Hi Tom, Hi-Mid Tom, Low-Mid, 2 Low Toms 2 Snare Drums, Bass Drum, Anvil, Brake Drum, Large Gong, China Cymbal, Tambourine), Timpani
  • Harp
  • Strings



~13 minutes


Performers: Rossen Milanov and Symphony in C


Score Link

Score Available Here


Alternate Version

Piano Version