Charles Peck



Rhapsody on a Character Theory

Color Density

More Music Coming Soon!

Composer, Producer, Audio Engineer

Rhapsody on a Character Theory is based off of the "Big Five" personality traits. This is a model used in psychology for describing the dimensions of personality. The five traits are Openness, Conscientiousness, Extraversion, Agreeableness, and Neuroticism (they are often identified by the acronym OCEAN). These inspire the form of the piece and the character of each section. Though exploring a variety of styles, the piece was composed with homogenous materials to reflect that the collection of these five traits defines one whole personality.

Color Density is a piece based off of a science experiment. With only a thin layer of milk, a couple drops of food coloring, and one drop of dish soap, an ever-evolving palette of colors can be realized. As this unfolds, the piece takes on a new dimension when the shadow of dusk enters and slowly overtakes the experiment. The audio is a reaction to this array of motion and color in the visuals and is generated from a short, half-second audio clip of a water droplet.

The term Alluvion means the flow of water against a shore or a bank. The immediate mental image this conjures is the back and forth of rolling waves. This concept of action-reaction is the driving force behind the piece. There is a constant dialogue between the two instruments in which they must propel and resonate each other if they are to do so at all. This image plays out in the first half of the piece in its most serene setting, utilizing a variety of subtle timbral shifts to create the motion. The second half, however, focuses more on the driving power of a river, often invoked by heavy rain. This initially sporadic gesture builds and builds into a dynamic swirl of energy, only to dissipate once again.

Performers: Benjamin Peck (right), Ryan Romine (left)

Ephemeral Empire explores the rise and fall of great empires. Musically, this is represented with a few different ideas. One involves the ensemble moving as a single powerful unit.  Another involves a single leader that tries to come forward, but is eventually overtaken by the ensemble. And the final idea puts the upper and lower strings in opposition to each other as each group struggles for prominence.


Conductor - Mikael Darmanie

1st Violin - Minhee Bae, Christine Prindle, Yi-An Chen, Xingye Hao

2nd Violin - Connor Grace, Erica Dicker, Katie Ezawa

Viola - Zachary Saunders, Emily Voto, Yang Fan

Cello - Jonathan Hodges, Christian Schrock

Bass - Christian Schlorman

Ferrous is a piece that showcases the unique properties of ferrofluid. This liquid contains microscopic magnetic particles, which will react to any external magnetic field. By introducing a magnet, we can see the fluid take the shape of the magnetic field lines emanating from that magnet. In this piece, all of the magnets are manipulated below the ferrofluid, but their shape and movement remains clear as the liquid mimics them. The score seeks to give each of these different magnets a character of its own. All of the audio is derived from two sources -- liquid and metal.

Special thanks to Henry Leach with the University of Cincinnati Physics Department for his help in creating the video